super 8

Before I continue I’d just like to say this isn’t about the J. J. Abrams’ movie Super 8. I saw it a few days ago and I didn’t like it. I thought it was gonna be great but ended up with a let down. However this is about a special film type or whatever. Could it actually be a camera? I’m not familiar with these terms. I’d name it ‘film’ but that wasn’t very original. Right? Or maybe it could be a film slate? Naah. Although… I don’t know. Suit yourself ;)

super 8

super 8

A base white I used was Inglot, 38, White with only 1 coat. And for a thumb I applied black – Essence, Multi Dimension, 20 Fatal; and light grey – Essence, Multi Dimension, 69 Movin’ On. You can follow the steps 1 – 4 as shown on the picture. Start by applying a stripe of black – Kiss, Brush On, Black; and let dry. In the meantime you can write the ‘countdown numbers’ 4, 3, 2 & 1 with gray – Essence, Colour & Go, 35 movie Star. Make a few white dots to that black stripe you applied to the corner of your nail earlier – Inglot again. Add 2 perpendicular lines which meet at the center of the number. Finish it with a circle around the number. It may not necessary be a full circle :)

countdown

countdown

Here’s how I did the thumb. I applied black with press-on guides for french mani and then filled in the empty tip with the grey. Then I made the top of the slate over the gray and added white features. Below the slate I then made another stripe of a light grey just to prevent it from being too long. The slate.

thumb

a thumb

film slate

film slate

In the end I painted the white corner with the light grey; the one I used for the thumb. You can see that on this picture.

I changed the white corners to grey

I changed the white corners to grey

You see, I’m all about movies these days. I recently figured Robert Downey jr. is my ultimate favourite actor. To tell you the truth, I’ve only been watching his movies for the past 2 weeks. Sherlock Holmes, Iron Man, Iron Man 2, Due Date, The Soloist, A Scanner Darkly, Black And White, Kiss Kiss Bang Bang, Tropic Thunder and Zodiac to state a few. Some of those even more than just once. Seriously, did you see his work in The Soloist? The scene where he (Steve Lopez) comes to Mary and speaks of an earthquake and Nathaniel. How does one do that?! I even searched for the script and tried to do it myself and I tell you what. It’s hard. Then I went and googled a few other transcripts, but enough about that. That’s a story for another blog, right? ;)

Who’s your favourite actor/actress? Favourite movie? Fav scene? A character? Or favourite director? Let me know in the comments below ;)

Shamshnita,
-xo

P.S.: Can’t wait for Sherlock Holmes – A Game Of Shadows, The Avengers and Iron Man 3 xD

