union jack

Today was fabulous for those attending the royal wedding and perhaps even for those who saw it on the tv. I think Kate looked stunning. Her McQueen dress took my breath away. I loved the lace, the tiara, I loved how the dress was elegant and long and that it wasn’t very royal but quite simple.

So of course I had to go with something British related. I knew I had it coming because I just love UK and their flag, their union jack is just awesome! Today is the kind of day I wanted to try it. I have to say my first attempt in painting a union jack on my nails turned out thousand times better then I could imagine. It is very easy to make, so go ahead and try to make it yourself.

union jack

union jack


First we’ll go with the thumb which has unlike all the other nails a red base colour – catrice, 060 bloody mary to go.

step 1: red base on the thumb

step 1: red base on the thumb

Allow the polish to dry and proceed with white – Vollare, nail artistic. Use the thin brush. Careful with making the red cross in the middle thicker than any other red line in the flag.

step 2: apply white with a thin brush

step 2: apply white with a thin brush

Fill in the corners with blue – catrice, 400 blue cara ciao. I used a thin brush here as well. After you’re done top coat the thumb.

step 3: complete the union jack with blue

step 3: complete the union jack with blue

Do with the rest of the nail whatever you wish, put in an underground sign, perhaps paint a few of your favorite landmarks like I already did with ‘i heart paris‘. I simply applied two coats of the catrice blue I used on the thumb on every single nail that was left unpainted. What would you do with them? Let me know in the comments below.

step 4: apply blue base and top coat on all other nails

step 4: apply blue base and top coat on all other nails

Shamshnita,
-xo

