leopard print

I have to thank my readers who left the comments on my first post ever. They really brightened my days :) I even got my first request, Leopard-Turquoise nail art, which gave me the inspiration to start straightaway. This post is a result of what I made of it.

leopard print

turquise and bright yellow create a fresh, sporty look

colour test

i made a test to make sure which colour goes best with turquise

I had to google for colours that go well with turquise and learned that a bright yellow or orange create a fresh look, If you want something more feminine use pale pink or lavender-like violet. With a flourescent pink you’ll get a bold retro effect; gray or silver go well with turquise as well, as for classic black & white, they go just about everywhere ;)

While I was working on this I remembered I did something similar years ago. Luckily I still have a picture of it. I used yellow and red back then.

my old leopard nail art

my old leopard nail art

That was just a flashback. Let me show you how to get the look you can see on the first picture above. First, I applied two coats of essence’s multi dimension “75 tryin’ to be cool” Let dry the first coat and then apply the 2nd one.

step 1: apply 2 coats of base colour

step 1: apply 2 coats of base colour

essence - multi dimension - 75 tryin' to be cool

75 tryin' to be cool

After the base colour is dry, draw dots with a thin brush. I used Vollare, Nail Artistic. Yellow. You can draw those over entire nail like I did on the palm finger or only apply them on the tips for a french manicure effect.

step 2: apply dots with a thin brush
step 2: apply dots with a thin brush
vollare yellow, thin brush
vollare yellow, thin brush

By the time you tap all the dots most of them will be dry and ready for the final touches. To transform those funky yellow dots into leopard spots simply add black curves around them. They don’t have to be the same. Some can be bigger than others, some may be surrounded with black all arround, others just in half. If you think it looks weird, don’t worry because  once you finish it looks a lot better in whole :)

step 3: add black curves to create leopard spots

step 3: add black curves to create leopard spots

vollare black, thin brush

vollare black, thin brush

Aaaand we’re done :) As you can see this nail art is very simple and still you can adjust it for yourself with many different colours and number of spots or places where you paint them.

If there is still some info I can provide you can always write a question in a comment section where you can also leave a request ;)

Shamshnita,

-xo

